Oh My Aching…Everything

At JIS, there are three sports seasons in one year. Strange, yes, but good. First season is cross-country, football and volleyball, second season is rugby, swimming and tennis, and third season is track and field, golf and badminton. My friends and I decided to go “all out” and go for tryouts. Nathan and Jao Lok do badminton, and Ethan and I are doing track and field.

I’ll admit, I was quite nervous going to the first session (first thing after school on Wednesday), but once things got going it was okay. There were about a hundred people there, which is apparently the biggest turnout in a long time. Everyone did a warm-up together, and then we a split up to do our separate activities, 45 mins per event. I started with long-distance running. We started by doing some drills, and talking about technique, and then the coach, Ms Richards said “Okay then, the 3kms is 8 times around the track. Off you go.” I ran with a guy called Sanghyeon from my Science class. We chatted a bit, but it was mostly just puffing and panting and “oh my cripes I’m going to die”-ing. We finished about middle of the pack, which is not a bad place to be, I think. Cripes, I was so wiped… I was probably the most tired I’ve been since the last time I did long-distance running.

After a short water break, I went and started the sprints, coached by none other than the head teacher of High School, Mr Clark! I think him being the principal was a bit unnerving, but he started cracking jokes and making fun of people, and I knew that he wasn’t going to be the principal for the next 45 minutes. We did some drills, then went out onto the track and talked about form and correct starting positions and acceleration, then did some more drills, including some relay drills. We finished up with a pep-talk from Mr Clark, then broke up at about 5:15 pm. I went and got changed out of The World’s Sweatiest Clothes into what would soon become The World’s Sweatiest Clothes, then walked to the bus, completely wiped. I couldn’t stop drinking, and several of my limbs were shaking uncontrollably, but I felt good! I felt really pleased that I had gone and worked up a sweat, and even if I don’t make the track team, at least I would get fitter. Let’s go!

P.S. Woke up the next morning with the stiffest limbs ever. I won’t forget to stretch ever again.

16 thoughts on “Oh My Aching…Everything

  1. Oliver, you never fail to impress, just by being you. What I admire most about your ‘adventures’ is that you are always being you. There is no feigned’ dorkiness; just 100% Oliver.
    No Conor from “Sing Song”; no Marty McFly from “Back to the Future”. Just pure Oliver….smashing!!!

    Like

  2. It’s so encouraging that you want to challenge yourself. Give it a go, make a few friends and get fit along the way – sounds like a win all round.

    Like

Leave a Reply

