First Thanksgiving

Yesterday was Thanksgiving in the US, and an acquaintance of Papa’s invited us to a Thanksgiving supper. I wore my floral shirt (see cinnamon buns post), because opportunities like this don’t come around very often. We wandered over at 4:15pm (first thing after school) to the Feldis household, a 5 minute walk away.

We were greeted by Kevin Feldis, an Environmental Prosecutor, his wife Lora, and their children, Kadin, Taz and Kiana. Kadin is super passionate about engineering, and at present is focussed on 3-D printers. He had one at the house and demonstrated it for us: simply amazing what technology can do. Throughout the evening, it was building a bracket for a work surface. Kadin also builds computers and RC cars. His workshop has a miniature pillar drill and metal lathe, and he’s currently teaching himself how to weld! A few girls from Rosie’s year were there, and so she spent loads of time with them, mostly in the pool. Mama and Papa chatted a lot with the adults. And myself? While I wasn’t chatting with Kadin, I was pigging out. Wow! So much food! Turkey, ham, cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes, baked potatoes, sweet potato, sweet potato with marshmallows, salad, rolls… delicious!!!! I had to say “goodbye, vegetarianism!” for the evening, but you won’t hear any complaints! And dessert…pumpkin pie, apple pie, raspberry pie, cream, ice cream, homemade ice cream, and of course, delicious shape cookies from Mama. By the end, I was stuffed. I mean, I could have eaten more, but you know me…!!! After helping to clear up, we left at around 9:15pm with a ½ kilo of ham!

So that was my first Thanksgiving. And what more could you ask for? Spending an evening with lovely people, eating awesome food! A great success, in my eyes. As Tim Allen said in “For Richer or Poorer”: “Good bread, good meat. Good God, let’s eat!”. Happy Thanksgiving.

16 thoughts on “First Thanksgiving

  1. Sounds very much like Your American Connecticut Cousins Thanksgiving Day yesterday! My very first turkey deep fried Southern style…holy smokes! EXTRA DELICIOUSNESS! The entire meal was expertly prepared by my newphew Mark Beatty, your Grampa Reed’s cousin once removed, therefore, your second cousin, I believe. His girl, Tracy served as our gracious hostess. Suzanne Beatty, my brother John Beatty’s wife, prepared peach n pumpkin soup. My hope was that savory treat would be my new healthy standard-then I was told, “add 4 cups brown sugar to the heavy cream”. So, we’ll save that for another annual delight. Let us hear more of your adventures as the “frontline” generation of Reed’s waits paiently for the next brigade to pick up the baton to gather us for another family reunion. Much love and care, YAC, Maryann Beatty Cook♡

    Like

  2. U the Man!!!!!
    I would have loved to watch you EAT.
    Your fans still talk about the size, volume, substance of your early morning breakfasts at 10 Hatt.
    I took Joe, Emily, Pete and Julie to Nations.ca last Saturday morning for the $3.99 Fish and Chips that you had simply inhaled and scarfed down in record time. The wimps couldn’t finish the meal.
    The Philosophicalcyclist rules!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  3. Happy (American) Thanksgiving to you!! That menu sounds great. Grandpa’s funny ‘grace’ is “Through the lips and past the gums, look out stomach, here it comes!”
    Now you have to follow the American tradition of “Black Friday” and go shopping for big sales!
    We do have a lot to be thankful for. xoxoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

