A New Life, A New House

 

Wahey! So, readers, the long-awaited day has arrived where we, the Eastwood-Reed family, move out of our apartment in World’s Fanciest Hotel and into our actual house! Yippee!

The house, first and foremost, is in Kemang. For those not so in-the-know, Kemang is like an area where a fair amount of the expats of Jakarta live. We are down a dead-end street, which means not traffic, and we are on a lovely wee compound. There are 14 houses. We are in one of the small ones, and it’s perfect for us. There are three bedrooms (I get the one overlooking the pool). Yes, we have a personal pool, but it is quite small, a bit like a king-sized bathtub. I think the term for the house would be open-plan. Downstairs is effectively one big room, which is really nice, as we get to spend more time together as a family.

Also on the compound is a whole bunch of little kids who are constantly coming to get me out for a play. I think I spend more time outside kicking a ball around or playing hide and seek than doing work! Oh well, I’m not complaining! The compound is super quiet, and with loads of tropical plants naturally growing. Also nearby is a supermarket (5 minutes walking distance) and a massive mall (10 minutes)! “What else could you possibly need?”, I hear you ask! Well, the nearest guitar shop is an hour away, so…

Long story short: our whole family loves our house, and we are glad that we have a place that we can make our own. We are so fortunate to have what we have, and we are grateful for it everyday.

16 thoughts on “A New Life, A New House

  1. I feel so fortunate to be living this with you and I agree that this will be a great home for us. Some of my favourite parts are the trees, especially the frangipani outside my bedroom window and the papaya in the back garden. Listening to all the beautiful birdsong makes me very happy (we need to get a new bird book for Indonesia). I especially like the dining room table – perfect for eating, doing homework, playing card games, spending time together.

    Like

  2. Love it, Oliver!px

    From: thephilosophicalcyclist To: paul.eastwood@yahoo.co.uk Sent: Monday, 19 September 2016, 11:53 Subject: [New post] A New Life, A New House #yiv2431914554 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv2431914554 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv2431914554 a.yiv2431914554primaryactionlink:link, #yiv2431914554 a.yiv2431914554primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv2431914554 a.yiv2431914554primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv2431914554 a.yiv2431914554primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv2431914554 WordPress.com | thephilosophicalcyclist posted: ” Wahey! So, readers, the long-awaited day has arrived where we, the Eastwood-Reed family, move out of our apartment in World’s Fanciest Hotel and into our actual house! Yippee!The house, first and foremost, is in Kemang. For those not so in-the-k” | |

    Like

  3. Dear Oliver:
    You deserve all of this and more. The Dhaka experience was incredibly meaningful; few will ever experience what your family went through. Your parents’ confidence in you and Rosie rising to the occasion was realized in spades. I saw tremendous growth in you and Rosie during that year.
    However, it is time that the Eastwood/Reed clan smell the roses. Enjoy every minute. You have shown you can handle the pressures of a country and city in turmoil; now, you have another sort of pressure: growing in a condition foreign to that of Dhaka. I”ll put my money on you, Big Guy!!!
    Love,
    YCF

    Like

  4. Nice one, Oliver. I love living here too. One of my favourite parts is going up and down the stairs. I didn’t know that I missed that from living in a flat. I can’t wait to have lots of fun with you here and eating good food together. I like the fish pond.

    Like

Leave a Reply

